Pharmacy Transparency Compared: Providers That Name Their Compounder
When a telehealth provider sends you compounded semaglutide, do you know where it was made? Most patients don't — and most providers don't volunteer the answer. We checked 10 platforms on what they disclose about their pharmacy partners.
Every compounded GLP-1 medication comes from a compounding pharmacy. That pharmacy is the entity responsible for the sterility, purity, potency, and storage of your medication. Knowing which pharmacy compounded your vial or tablets isn't just curiosity — it's your ability to verify their licensing, check their FDA inspection history, and confirm they haven't received Warning Letters.
Yet the majority of GLP-1 telehealth providers treat their pharmacy partner as proprietary information. We reviewed 10 platforms to see which ones disclose their compounding pharmacy and which keep it hidden.
The Transparency Table
| Provider | Names Pharmacy | 503A or 503B | Verifiable | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sesame Care | N/A — brand-name only | N/A | FDA-approved manufacturer | Novo Nordisk (Wegovy/Rybelsus). Full traceability. |
| GobyMeds | Yes — on vial label | 503A | Pharmacy name on packaging | Patient can verify via state board. |
| Found | On packaging, not pre-purchase | Varies | After you receive medication | You learn who made it when the box arrives. |
| Oak | On packaging | Varies | After delivery | Similar to Found — post-purchase only. |
| SHED | General disclosure | Uses 503A and 503B | Brand Wegovy path fully traceable | Compounded path less transparent. |
| Embody | Not disclosed pre-purchase | Not stated | Not verifiable before buying | OpenLoop network — pharmacy not named. |
| Wellorithm | Not disclosed | Not stated | Not verifiable | Pricing is transparent; pharmacy sourcing isn't. |
| Gala | Not disclosed | Not stated | Not verifiable | Flat pricing, opaque sourcing. |
| Telos Rx | Not disclosed | Not stated | Not verifiable | No LegitScript seal either. |
| MadeMed | Not disclosed | Not stated | Not verifiable | Format variety but pharmacy unnamed. |
Why Pharmacy Transparency Matters
Compounding pharmacies operate under two federal frameworks, and the distinction is significant:
- 503A pharmacies prepare medications based on individual patient prescriptions. They're regulated primarily by state boards of pharmacy. This is patient-specific compounding — one prescription, one patient.
- 503B outsourcing facilities can prepare larger batches without individual prescriptions, but they're subject to FDA inspection and must comply with current Good Manufacturing Practice (cGMP) standards. The FDA proposed removing semaglutide and tirzepatide from the 503B bulks list in April 2026 — if finalized, this would end large-scale 503B compounding of these drugs.
When a provider doesn't tell you which pharmacy compounded your medication, you can't check whether that pharmacy has passed its most recent state or FDA inspection, whether it has any Warning Letters or enforcement actions, or whether it's a 503A (state-regulated) or 503B (FDA-inspected) facility. You're trusting the telehealth platform to have done that vetting — and the JAMA study suggested that not all of them have.
How to Verify a Compounding Pharmacy
If your medication arrives with a pharmacy name on the label (GobyMeds, Found, and Oak typically include this), here's how to check it:
- State Board of Pharmacy: Every compounding pharmacy is licensed by its state. Search the state board's website for the pharmacy name and check for active license status and any disciplinary actions.
- FDA Inspection Database: For 503B facilities, search the FDA's Establishment Inspection Database for recent inspection results.
- NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy): The NABP maintains a list of accredited pharmacies and verified internet pharmacy sites.
- PCAB (Pharmacy Compounding Accreditation Board): PCAB accreditation is voluntary but indicates a higher standard of compliance.
Most transparent: Sesame Care (brand-name only — full FDA manufacturing traceability) and GobyMeds (names pharmacy on vial label, 503A). Post-purchase transparency: Found and Oak (pharmacy name on packaging, but not disclosed before purchase). Least transparent: Embody, Wellorithm, Gala, Telos Rx, and MadeMed — none disclose their pharmacy partner pre-purchase. If pharmacy sourcing matters to you, ask before signing up. A provider that won't name their pharmacy partner is a data point, not a disqualification — but it's a data point worth noting.
For a related perspective on provider vetting, see our lab requirements comparison and glp-1telemedicine.com's pharmacy verification guide.
Methodology
Pharmacy disclosure practices assessed via provider websites, FAQ pages, patient-reported packaging, and direct support inquiries as of September 2026. "Names pharmacy" means the compounding pharmacy's identity is disclosed either pre-purchase (on the website) or on medication packaging. This article contains no affiliate links. See our full methodology.
Compare Trust Signals Across Providers
Pharmacy transparency, lab requirements, and clinical rigor — all in one place.
View Full Comparison